My Mind: A Tabula Rasha!

I am novice to writing. Sometimes, a vicious aspiration takes birth in my mind to express the ideas formed in my mind in beautiful and well-organized sentences.  Like everyone else, I go to the office, meet people and see places. Different feelings and emotions that rush in my mind want to get written in amusing way. Everyone undergoes ups and downs in their life. And I can be no exception. I sincerely wish to put both sunny and rainy experience in fascinating manner. Very many times, I have awkward dreams, dreams that I had not even imagined I would see them in dream. Once I dreamt of embarking on space to view the Earth. I saw the earth covered with green hills and green fields stretching from the East to the West and vice-versa. That was nearly a fortnight ago. Of late, I found myself taking class in the open with a Professor Noam Chomsky in the eastern hillside of Nepal. The class was disrupted by abrupt rainfall. I cannot recall where Mr Chomsky disappeared or went.

To cut the matter short, manifold ideas and feeling race in my cognitive faculty every minute and every hour. Sometimes, I have euphoria though people around me are in misery. Other times, people around me are merrymaking while I am down with frustration. A few books I have started reading recently.  Visit? I have not had a great opportunity to tour and see many places.

When my fingers are staying away from keyboard, my mind gets inundated with a gamut of ideas. I feel as if ideas and feelings will burst out if I fail to provide suitable outlet. They battle in my mind and vie with each other to come out of me. When the race is about to take off, I garner the audacity to turn my fingers on the laptop to shape the crowd of ideas rushing in my head into an appropriate syntax. The moment I press the letters in the keyboard, ideas fighting to come out of my brain get stranded midway. My fingers halt there. After a few minutes, my mind teeming with floods of ideas and thoughts just before goes blank. To put it other way, my mind goes a tabula rasha, like a blank sheet of paper.

As the mind goes blank, I seek blogs and write-ups offering suggestions on writing techniques and formulas. “One can write and be a good writer through persistent practice’, says a famous South American fiction writer. Write, write, write and write, says a popular American author of 20th century to the aspirant of writing both fiction and non-fiction. As I want more advice, I continue searching additional recommendation. A British author puts, “You have to be good reader to be a writer”. I take the last advice with utmost gravity. Guided by the specter of being capable to write something, I visited a book store at Jamal and procured Blue Mimosa, translation of Parijat’s Sirishko Fool and Ernest Hemingway’s “The Old Man and the Sea”. Reason: they are slim and language simple to construe.  I flip through Old Man and the Sea. Going through twice, I managed to piece together its plot. I made unsuccessful attempts to comprehend symbols, setting and others used in the novella.

Wondering about Blue Mimosa? As it has around 100 pages, anyone one can do with it in a single or two sittings. I concluded it in two settings. Characters, I still remember as they happen to be Nepalese. Story? Yes, I could follow it too. But, I could not come up with a motif binding the whole story. I still regret not being able to decode that. Now, my tyro mind says that you have finished two books so you can embark on your work.   I turn to the laptop once again. I effort to write, write to give concrete shape to my intangible thoughts and feelings. I try to put thoughts in sentences to mollify battling thoughts in my head. Unfortunately, by the time I am ready to press the keyboard, ideas and feelings fade away from the mind and My Mind turns goes tabula rasha again.

Name: Ushak Karki

Address: Ratopul, Kathmnadu

Contact No: 9851133107

Leave a comment